PermalinkPrintable page


Search Help


  • 1. How much content is in the database?
  • 2. Can I use Boolean operators?
  • 3. What is an RSS feed?
See all FAQs »

Technical Support

Telephone: 1-800-889-5937

When reporting a problem please include your customer name, e-mail address, phone number, domain name or IP address and that of your web proxy server if used.

About Classical Music Reference Library

1. About the Database

Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 40,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which have never before been available in electronic form. The Baker's titles, edited by the late Nicholas Slonimsky, offer a comprehensive and highly accessible set of musical reference texts that are essential to music study.

Classical Music Reference Library offers comprehensive coverage of all classical genres, spanning music from the Medieval period to the 21st century, including definitions of musical terms and biographical information on the major classical composers and artists. The first release includes the Baker's resources, as well as biographies, chronologies, primary source readings, and critical texts.

Future releases will include links with Classical Music Library and Classical Scores Library for subscribing customers allow users to find reference materials, and then link straight to audio recordings or scores relevant to that material, as well as more detailed indexing.

2. Acknowledgements

At Alexander Street Press, the following people have been instrumental in the development of the collection:

  • Andrea Eastman-Mullins
  • Christina Chamberlain
  • John Field
  • Joanna Koslowsky
  • Liz Dutton
  • Pat Carlson
  • Paul Dixon
  • Stephen Rhind-Tutt
  • Tim Lloyd
  • Will Whalen
  • Xochitl Tafoya

3. MARC Records

MARC records are available for this collection.